FBI National Academy

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

As FBI National Academy graduates, these officers enter into a select group made up of less than one percent of the country’s law enforcement officers.  They were hand-picked by their departments and, along with about 250 other officers, completed the 10-week course at the FBI Training Academy, located inside the Marine Corps Base in Quantico, Virginia. The course included instruction in law, behavioral science, forensic science, understanding terrorism/terrorist mindsets, leadership development, communication, and health/fitness.

The FBI National Academy is dedicated to the improvement of law enforcement standards and has long been a benchmark for professional continuing education. Participants are drawn from every state in the union, from U.S. territories, and from over 150 partner nations. Police officers who attend the Academy return to their communities better prepared to meet criminal challenges.

The overall goal of the Academy is to support, promote, and enhance the personal and professional development of law enforcement leaders by preparing them for complex, dynamic, and contemporary challenges through innovative techniques, facilitating excellence in education and research and forging partnerships throughout the world.

The academy was created in 1935 with 23 students in the first class. It has grown over the years to the current enrollment of over 1,000 students a year. The FBI National Academy is one of the premier law enforcement academies in the world.

Graduates of the FBI National Academy 

Dennis Joyner (Ret) – 123rd Session

Jerome Burgess (Ret) – 134th Session

Dwight Hood (Ret) – 137th Session

Tommy McCaskill (Ret) – 149th Session

David Boling (Ret) – 156th Session

William Hamric (Ret) – 164th Session

L. E. Goodwin (Ret) – 167th Session

Terry Cochran (Ret) – 176th Session

Charles Beard (Ret) – 186th Session

Jeff Abeln – 197th Session

David Tillner (Ret) – 208th Session

Steve Williams (d) – 219th Session

Dale Lane – 226th Session

Chris Locke (Res) – 227th Session

Mike Moore (Ret) – 235th Session

William Anderson - 241st Session

David Townsend – 249th Session

Benjamin Wardlow - 260th Session

Kenneth Rowlett - 281st Session